Aviation knowledge which help you to enrich your career



What is IATA and its function  
The International Air Transport Association (IATA) is the trade association for the world‘s airlines. It represents some 240 airlines or more than 84% of total air traffic. IATA supports airline activities and helps formulate industry policies and standards.
Fill the form so that we can contact you easily.

1. IATA assigns three letter and two letter codes to airports and airlines which are commonly used worldwide along with ICAO. For Rail & Fly systems IATA also assigns IATA train station codes. For delay codes IATA assigns IATA Delay Codes. IATA provides 2 letter code for airline & 3 letter code for airport.

2. IATA is pivotal in the worldwide accreditation of travel agents. In the US agents who wish to sell airline tickets must also achieve accreditation with the Airlines Reporting Corporation. Over 80% of airlines’ sales come from IATA accredited agents. The IATA/IATAN ID Card is a globally recognized industry credential for travel professionals.

3. IATA administrates worldwide the Billing and Settlement Plan (BSP) and Cargo Accounts Settlement Systems (CASS) that serves as a facilitator of the sales, reporting and remittance of accredited travel and cargo agencies. Both settlement programmes are ruled by standards and resolutions.

4. IATA regulates the shipping of Dangerous goods and publishes the IATA Dangerous goods Regulations (DGR) manual yearly, a globally accepted field source reference for airlines’ shipping of hazardous materials.

5. IATA co-ordinates the Scheduling process which govern the allocation and exchange of slots at congested airports worldwide applying fair, transparent and non-discriminatory principles.

6. IATA maintains the TIMATIC database containing cross border passenger documentation requirements. It is used by airlines to determine whether a passenger can be carried, as well as by airlines and travel agents to provide this information to travellers at the time of booking.

7. IATA publishes standards for use in the airline industry. The Bar Coded Boarding Pass (BCBP) standard defines the 2 dimensional (2D) bar code printed on paper boarding passes or sent to mobile phones as electronic boarding passes. The Electronic Miscellaneous Document (EMD) defines a standard document to account airline sales and track usage of charges.

8. IATA publishes the IATA Rates of Exchange (IROE) four times per year used with the Neutral Unit of Construction (NUC) fare currency-neutral construction system that superseded the older Fare Construction Unit (FUC) system in 1989.

9.  In 2004 IATA launched Simplifying the Business- a set of five initiatives which it says will save the industry US$6.5 billion every year. These projects are BCBP, IATA e-freight, CUSS (Common Use Self-service), Baggage Improvement Program (BIP) and the Fast Travel Program.

Fill the form so that we can contact you easily.

The Bureau of Civil Aviation Security, India, was initially set up as a Cell in the Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA) in January 1978 on the recommendation of the Pande Committee constituted in the wake of the hijacking of the Indian Airlines flight on 19th September, 1976. The role of the cell was to co-ordinate, monitor, inspect and train personnel in Civil Aviation Security matters

 BCAS was reorganized into an independent department on 1st April 1987 under the Ministry of Civil Aviation as a sequel to the Kanishka Tragedy in June 1985. The main responsibilities of BCAS are to lay down standards and measures in respect to security of civil flights at International and Domestic airports in India.


1. Laying down Aviation Security standards in accordance with Annex 17 to Chicago Convention of ICAO for airport operators, airlines operators and their security agencies responsible for implementing AVSEC measures.

2. Monitoring the implementation of security rules and regulations and carrying out survey of security needs. Ensure that the persons implementing security controls are appropriately trained and possess all competencies required to perform their duties.

3. Planning and coordination of Aviation security matters.

4. Conducting surprise/dummy checks to test professional efficiency and alertness of security staff.

1. Mock exercise to test efficiency of Contigency Plans and operational preparedness of the various agencies.

2. Issue Airport Entry Pass (AEP) to personnel.

Fill the form so that we can contact you easily.

Do you know?
Types of AEP:
ORANGE: All areas all airports in the country.
PURPLE: All areas of a particular airport.
NAVY BLUE: All areas except Security Hold Area (SHA)
WHITE: Apron area only.
ORANGE C: For captains/Pilots and Crew members only.
BROWN: Till check-in counters.  


The Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA) is the regulatory body in the field of Civil Aviation primarily dealing with safety issues. It is responsible for regulation of air transport services to/from/within India and for enforcement of civil air regulations, air safety and airworthiness standards. It also co-ordinates all the regulatory functions with ICAO

 The headquarters is located in New Delhi with regional offices in various parts of India. There are 14 Regional Airworthiness offices located at Delhi Safdarjang Sri Aurobindo Marg, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata, Bangalore, Hyderabad, Trivandrum, Bhopal, Lucknow, Patna, Bhubaneshwar, Kanpur, Guwahati and Patiala. Apart from the Regional Airworthiness offices, there are 5 Regional Air Safety offices located in Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata and Hyderabad.

The Regional research and Development Office is located at Bangalore and the Gliding Center at Pune. The government of India is planning to replace the organization with a CIVIL AVIATION AUTHORITY (CAA) & modeled on the lines of the American FEDERAL AVIATION ADMINISTRATION (FAA). 

Fill the form so that we can contact you easily.

Post a Comment